Skip to content Skip to navigation

High Priest Ministry of Jesus According to Hebrews


  • A high priest officiates for sacrifices and offerings, He intercedes for the people He is responsible for, and He sympathizes with people.
  • There are three priesthoods related to the different ages or dispensations.
    • Dispensation of Gentiles had the family priesthood, Abraham, Job, and Melchizedek.
    • Dispensation of Israel had the Levitical priesthood. The high priest was from the one tribe, Levi.
    • Dispensation of the Church has a universal priesthood. Every believer is a priest.
  • Jesus Christ holds the office of eternal High Priest (Hebrews 3.1; 5.10; 6.20; 7.21-24). Jesus was qualified to be the eternal high priest.
    • Jesus was true humanity and a man (Hebrews 2.17).
    • Jesus was called, appointed, and made high priest by God’s oath (Hebrews 5.5, 6, 10).
    • Jesus’ priesthood was like Melchizedek’s (Hebrews 5.10; 7.14-18).
    • Jesus’ priesthood was an eternal priesthood (Hebrews 7.24-28).
    • Seated at the right hand of the father (Hebrews 8.1).
  • The high priest ministry of Jesus includes
    • Sacrifice of Himself once for all time and all people. This was a past ministry for Him (Hebrews 7.27; 9.11-14; 9.25-28). Our salvation is secure.
    • Intercessory prayer ministry. This is a present ministry (Hebrews 7.25). Christ prays for us before the Father.
    • Sympathize with those who are tested and tempted. Jesus gives mercy and grace to those who draw near to him in fellowship, prayer, and faith. This is a present ministry (Hebrews 4.14-16). Christ has a sense of what we are going through. We draw near to Christ by our fellowship with Him, by our prayer to Him, and by our faith in Him.

Last Update

Wednesday, March 25, 2009